Welcome to the New Haven Civilian Review Board
Return To City Homepage Menu is below
  • InfoNewHaven
  • Return Home

  • Search Our Site
    transparent image for spacing

    Civilian Review Board

    Date: 4/12/2007
    Title: Wilson Branch Library, 303 Washington Avenue
    Civilian Review Board Meeting
    April 12, 2007
    Wilson Branch Library
    303 Washington Avenue

    Call to Order
    The meeting was called to order by Shirley Wayne Washington.

    A. Rollcall by Mary Blair

    13 Present 2 Absent 1 Vacancy

    B. Approval of Agenda

    Motion made by Mary Blair to accept the agenda; seconded by Robin Hobson; approved unanimously.

    C. Approval of Minutes

    Motion made by Kathleen Smith-Bogan to accept the minutes; seconded by Ann Tramontana; approved unanimously.

    D. Coordinator’s Report

    Motion made by Evelise Ribeiro to accept the Coordinator’s Report; seconded by Kathleen Smith-Bogan; approved unanimously.

    E. Open Floor

    IVE Introductions:
    Lieutenant Joann Peterson provided her professional background and an overview of Internal Values & Ethics.

    F. Unfinished Business

    - Youth Proposal prepared by Easter Howard
    - Questionnaire prepared by William Bixby for review by the Board

    Both items to be sent to the entire Board for appropriate next steps.

    G. Subcommittee Reports

    - Board of Police Commissioners: Evelise Ribeiro gave an overview of the last Board of Police Commissioners meeting held on Tuesday, April 10, 2007.
    - Robert Spirito and William Bixby reported that they read Case #050-06-C and forwarded it to Juanita Wright, Panel “C” member Chair.

    H. New Business

    ? Field trip to Yonkers, NY, Police Standards Review Committee scheduled for April 23, 2007
    ? Absentee member letter
    ? Board of Aldermen meeting scheduled for Wednesday, April 18, 2007, re CRB
    ? Independent Accountability Team: Shirley Wayne Washington is Co-Chair

    13 Present 2 Absent 1 Vacancy

    William Bixby Sarah McIver Board of Aldermen
    Mary Blair Juanita Wright
    Barbara Carroll
    Catherine Gootkin
    Robin Hobson
    Easter Howard
    Reverend Walter Johnson, Jr.
    Maureen O’Sullivan
    Evelise Ribeiro
    Kathleen Smith-Bogan
    Robert Spirito
    Ann Tramontana
    Shirley Wayne Washington

    Staff: Reginald Thomas, Civilian Review Board Coordinator
    Thomas W. Ude, Jr., Corporation Counsel

    Guests: Lieutenant Joann Peterson, OIC-IVE
    Sergeant Ariel Melendez, IVE

    Motion to adjourn to Executive Session; approved unanimously.

    The next Civilian Review Board meeting is scheduled for 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, May 10, 2007 at the Fair Haven Branch Library, 182 Grand Avenue. All members are encouraged to arrive by 5:45 p.m. if at all possible.

    Return to Previous Page

    Click To Visit The Mayor
    Fountains on the Green
    Statue of Columbus in Wooster Square Park
    Yale University Art Gallery
    Footer For City Site
    Residents | Visitors | Business | Online Services | Q&A | Guide to New Haven | Government | Forms Central | Calendars | Emergency Info
    Any comments/suggestions E-mail the Webmaster for the City of New Haven or contact the Mayor's Office, 165 Church Street, New Haven CT 06510, Telephone 203-946-8200.
    New Haven City Seal