Welcome to the New Haven Civilian Review Board
Return To City Homepage Menu is below
  • InfoNewHaven
  • Return Home

  • Search Our Site
    transparent image for spacing

    Civilian Review Board

    Date: 3/8/2007
    Title: Fair Haven Police Substation, 295 Blatchley Avenue
    Civilian Review Board Meeting
    March 8, 2007
    Fair Haven Branch Library
    295 Blatchley Avenue

    Call to Order
    The meeting was called to order by Mary Blair.

    A. Rollcall by Mary Blair

    10 Present 5 Absent 1 Vacancy

    B. Approval of Agenda

    Motion made by Mary Blair to accept the agenda; seconded by Robert Spirito; approved unanimously.

    C. Approval of Minutes

    Motion made by Ann Tramontana to accept the minutes; seconded by Robert Spirito; approved unanimously.

    D. Coordinatorís Report

    Motion made by Kathleen Smith-Bogan to accept the Coordinatorís Report; seconded by Catherine Gootkin; approved unanimously.

    E. Open Floor

    Assistant Police Chief Stephanie Redding, Paul Smith, Sr., and Anne Massaro attended the meeting.

    F. Unfinished Business

    Laiose King proposal should be sent to Kay Codish at the Training Academy.
    Questionnaire being reviewed

    G. Subcommittee Reports

    H. New Business

    ? Reginald Thomas announced that John J. Buturla will resign as Chief Administrative Officer effective March 30th to accept the position of Stratford Chief of Police. Robert Smuts, who is Deputy Chief of Staff in the Mayorís Office, will assume the role of CAO effective April 2nd.
    ? Shirley Wayne Washington discussed tasers.
    ? Assistant Chief Stephanie Redding discussed tasers. 50 on order with camera; daily download by two (2) dedicated persons.
    ? Assistant Chief Redding emphasized that the policy development is in circulation and is a slow, methodical process.

    10 Present 5 Absent 1 Vacancy

    William Bixby Easter Howard Board of Aldermen
    Mary Blair Reverend Walter Johnson, Jr.
    Barbara Carroll Maureen OíSullivan
    Catherine Gootkin Juanita Wright
    Robin Hobson Sarah McIver
    Evelise Ribeiro
    Kathleen Smith-Bogan
    Robert Spirito
    Ann Tramontana
    Shirley Wayne Washington

    Staff: Reginald Thomas, Civilian Review Board Coordinator
    Laoise King, Assistant Corporation Counsel

    Guests: Assistant Chief Stephanie Redding
    Paul D. Smith, Sr.
    Anne Massaro

    Motion to adjourn made by Catherine Gootkin; seconded by Barbara Carroll; approved unanimously.

    The next Civilian Review Board meeting is scheduled for 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, April 12, 2007 at the Courtland Wilson Branch Library, 303 Washington Avenue. All members are encouraged to arrive by 5:45 p.m. if at all possible.

    Return to Previous Page

    Click To Visit The Mayor
    Yale University Art Gallery
    City Hall Clock Tower
    Yale Underpass
    Footer For City Site
    Residents | Visitors | Business | Online Services | Q&A | Guide to New Haven | Government | Forms Central | Calendars | Emergency Info
    Any comments/suggestions E-mail the Webmaster for the City of New Haven or contact the Mayor's Office, 165 Church Street, New Haven CT 06510, Telephone 203-946-8200.
    New Haven City Seal